Formula DRIFT Round 3: Invasion Results

Written by Cheryl Tay on . Posted in Cheryl Tay News | Latest Industry News

Justin Pawlak Takes the Victory and the Lead in the Standings

181Long Beach, Calif. – June 6, 2011 – Formula DRIFT entered Florida for the first time for Round 3: Invasion at Palm Beach International Raceway. Justin Pawlak takes the victory in the Falken Tires Ford Mustang and regains the lead in the Pro Championship standings.

Round 3: Invasion brought the Formula DRIFT Pro Championship to Florida for the first time in the eight seasons of competition. The action packed weekend showcased the best drifters in the world at a new venue. The new course was technical and fast giving the drivers a challenge to adjust to.

“The demand to bring Formula DRIFT from drifting fans to the state of Florida were heard loud and clear,” said Jim Liaw, president and co-founder of Formula DRIFT. “We are confident that Formula DRIFT exceeded all expectations by showcasing the level of professional drifting competition never seen in the region before and hope we can make this a regular championship stop.”

The action on track saw the top 4 qualifiers make it into the Final 4 of the competition. Number one qualifier Chris Forsberg in the NOS Energy Drink Nissan 370Z battled number 2 qualifier Darren McNamara in the Falken Tire Saturn Sky in the consolation round. McNamara beat Forsberg to take third place in the event and also solidify a team Falken Tire sweep on the podium.


The final battle was a battle of the Mustang with Falken Tire teammates Justin Pawlak in the Falken Ford Mustang and Vaughn Gittin, Jr. in the Monster Energy / Falken Ford Mustang. Pawlak edged out his teammate for his second victory of the season regaining the lead in the pro championship point standings.

“It feels unreal,” exclaimed Justin Pawak, winner of Round 3. “I knew I had a good chance to win despite a tough ladder of competition, but we brought it home and we are back on top!”

The Formula DRIFT Championship continues later this month for Round 4: The Gauntlet at Wall Speedway in New Jersey on June 17-18. Tickets are available to purchase online. 

For more information visit:

Formula DRIFT Professional Championship 2011 Point Standings after 3 Rounds
1. Pawlak, Justin Falken Tire Ford Mustang 272 Points
2. McNamara, Darren Falken Tire Pontiac Saturn Sky 236 Points
3. Yoshihara, Daijiro Discount Tire / Falken Tire Nissan S13 220 Points
4. Forsberg, Chris NOS Energy Drink / Hankook Tire Nissan 370Z 215 Points
5. Powers, Matt Need for Speed Nissan S14 212.25 Points
6. McQuarrie, Tyler Falken Tire Nissan 350Z 179 Points
7. Tuerck, Ryan Gardella Racing / Mobil 1 Chevrolet Camaro 176 Points
8. Grunewald, Conrad Hankook Tire Chevy Camaro 166 Points
9. Yoshioka, Toshiki Retaks Nissan S13 159.25 Points
10. Gittin, Vaughn Monster Energy / Falken Ford Mustang 157 Points
11. Mohan, Kyle Nexen Tire / Mazdatrix Mazda RX-8 149.50 Points
12. Aasbo, Fredric Need for Speed / Hankook Scion TC 144.50 Points
13. Wilkerson, Walker Fatlace / Intec Racing Nissan 240 135.75 Points
14. Waldin, Matt Helix Energy Drink Nissan 350Z 134.50 Points
15. Millen, Rhys Red Bull / Hankook Hyundai Genesis 130 Points
16. Russakoff, John Megan Racing / Nexen Tire Toyota Corolla 119.50 Points


Round Invasion Event Results

1. Pawlak, Justin Falken Tire Ford Mustang Winner
2. Gittin, Vaughn Monster Energy / Falken Ford Mustang Second
3. McNamara, Darren Falken Tire Saturn Sky Third Triple Crown (after 1 of 3 events)

1. Yoshihara, Daijiro Discount Tire / Falken Tire Nissan S13 106 Points
2. McNamara, Darren Falken Tire Saturn Sky 90 Points
3. Yoshioka, Toshiki Retaks Nissan S13 79 Points

Cheryl Tay

Twitter Facebook Google Plus Linked In
Singapore’s only female full-time motoring and motorsports photojournalist. Independent automotive consultant and prominent local motorsports personality Cheryl Tay is uniquely passionate about all things cars and motorsports. She also has a strong passion to share her interest and knowledge, hence having a dream to become the ‘Oprah Winfrey of cars and motorsports’ and create a multimedia platform for her sharing. - A female in a male-dominated world, Cheryl Tay is Singapore’s only female full-time motoring journalist and motorsports blogger and she regularly writes for prominent titles in Singapore, Asia and internationally. (See full list of titles that Cheryl Tay writes for here.)

Contact us

For invites, request of services, pitches, story ideas, feedback or any other enquiries, kindly email

For submission of press releases and latest news, kindly email

Tips for sending news releases:
- Include text of the release as part of the email message
- Attach press release in MS Word/PDF format
- Include low-res pictures in the email
- Hi-res pictures downloadable via a link or available upon request