Formula Drift Asia 2011: Driftpac Awards Dinner

Written by Cheryl Tay on . Posted in Cheryl Tay Blog | Blog Post of Cheryl Tay

To celebrate the end of the 2011 Formula Drift Asia season, Driftpac organised a private dinner for drivers and VIPs last night at Estate, a cosy lounge at the ground level of The Intermark, the same building as DoubleTree by Hilton.


Co-founder of Formula Drift Ryan Sage and co-founder of Formula Drift Asia Marcus Lim gave a short address, to sum up the season and also to thank everyone for their support.


Congratulations to the winners of the overall awards:


Formula Drift Asia 2011

Overall Drivers’ Championship – 1st

Daigo Saito, SPARK Achilles Team

This guy is phenomenal – it’s his first full Formula Drift Asia season after making his debut at Formula Drift Malaysia last year and winning it. He was dominant throughout – winning all three rounds.



Formula Drift Asia 2011

Overall Drivers’ Championship – 2nd

Saranon Pornpatanarak, M150 Overdrive Team

It was a busy year for this multiple Thai national drifting champion – competing in two national drift series, Formula Drift Asia and making his debut at Formula Drift USA (at Rounds 6 and 7). He finished 2nd in Singapore, had a faulty car in Indonesia and made a mistake during the Top 32 battle in Malaysia. Still, he is skilful enough to come in 2nd overall in the drivers’ championship. 



Formula Drift Asia 2011

Overall Drivers’ Championship – 3rd

Somchai Aroonrung (Ju), Red Bull Drift Team Thailand

This guy has no clue about the championship standings and has never calculated the points. The only thing on his mind is to just go out there and drift drift drift to the best he can. I intentionally did not inform him that he has this prize to collect at the dinner, but made sure that he attended the dinner. When his name was announced, he was so surprised that he teared when he received the trophy on stage.



Formula Drift Asia 2011

Overall Team Championship – 1st

SPARK Achilles Team

(received on behalf by drivers Daigo Saito and Robbie Nishida)

With Daigo sweeping all three rounds of the series, it is not surprising that the team championship goes to the team he represents as well. 



Formula Drift Asia 2011

Rookie of the Year

Joshua Edwin Ian Boettcher, GT Radial Team

More fondly known as JB, this is his first Formula Drift Asia season and he competed in all three rounds in three different cars. That was some feat he pulled off – adjusting to the tracks and the cars. He finished just 2.5 points ahead of the next rookie Muhammad Rulli Armando, who finished 2nd in the Indonesian round.



Formula Drift Asia 2011

Best Drift Style

Somchai Aroonrung (Ju), Red Bull Drift Team Thailand

(Accumulation of points for Style throughout the season for every qualifying run)

He wasn’t sure if he wanted to attend the awards dinner, as he was feeling somewhat disappointed from his performance – he lost to Mai Chaiwat of the M150 Overdrive Team in the Top 16. But I told him that he does not go home empty-handed, as he won the Best Drift Style award for scoring the highest total points for Style throughout the season. For those unaware, each qualifying run for drifting is judged on line (30%), angle (30%), style (30%) and speed (10%). Hence, this award was based on the total points under the Style component from the best qualifying runs of each round of the season. Thinking he only had one prize to collect, he was completely taken aback when his name was announced. 



More photos of the night…

Congrats to all awardees!403332_308269415873969_131620790205500_954793_1447135568_n

Formula Drift Asia 2011 – Overall Drivers’ Championship


With the Formula Drift and Driftpac team



Thumbs up for Achilles!


Well done RSR!



I wanted a photo with the Indonesian boys! (Yes… I called them boys!)


And then I wanted a photo with the JDM boys! (Oops, forgot about Orido)






Formula Drift USA 2011 champion and Formula Drift Asia 2011 champion! 

FD got owned by Nippon power man…


To view the whole album, go here:

> Formula Drift Asia 2011 – Driftpac Awards Dinner


Cheryl Tay

Twitter Facebook Google Plus Linked In
Singapore’s only female full-time motoring and motorsports photojournalist. Independent automotive consultant and prominent local motorsports personality Cheryl Tay is uniquely passionate about all things cars and motorsports. She also has a strong passion to share her interest and knowledge, hence having a dream to become the ‘Oprah Winfrey of cars and motorsports’ and create a multimedia platform for her sharing. - A female in a male-dominated world, Cheryl Tay is Singapore’s only female full-time motoring journalist and motorsports blogger and she regularly writes for prominent titles in Singapore, Asia and internationally. (See full list of titles that Cheryl Tay writes for here.)

Contact us

For invites, request of services, pitches, story ideas, feedback or any other enquiries, kindly email

For submission of press releases and latest news, kindly email

Tips for sending news releases:
- Include text of the release as part of the email message
- Attach press release in MS Word/PDF format
- Include low-res pictures in the email
- Hi-res pictures downloadable via a link or available upon request